Contents | Introduction


Mary Anning:
Courtesy of the University of California Museum of Paleontology and the UC Regents

Annie Jump Cannon
Courtesy of the Harvard University Archives

Rosa Smith Eigenmann
Courtesy of Scripps Institution of Oceanography

Rosalind Franklin
Courtesy of the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Archives

Helen Sawyer Hogg
Courtesy of The Royal Astronomical Society of Canada

Grace Murray Hopper

Maria Goeppert-Mayer
Courtesy of the Mandeville Special Collections Library, University of California, San Diego, and the UC Regents

Lise Meitner
Top image reproduced with the permission of Churchill Archives Centre. Original material held at Churchill Archives Centre, Churchill College, Cambridge, CB3 0DS United Kingdom. Not to be copied, distributed, published, or sold without the permission of Churchill Archives Centre.
American Institute of Physics, Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

Emmy Noether
Courtesy Bryn Mawr College Archives

Rósza Péter
Courtesy of Béla Andrásfai

Roger Arliner Young
Copyright Marine Biological Laboratory Archives, Woods Hole, Massachusetts.

Merry Maisel and Laura Smart

Graphic Design:
Gail W. Bamber

Web Design:
David L. Hart

© 1997 San Diego Supercomputer Center