Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, University of California, San Diego

9500 Gilman Drive, MC 0505
La Jolla, CA 92093-0505
Fax: 858-534-5056

Sidney Karin is Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at the University of California at San Diego (UCSD) and former Director of the San Diego Supercomputer Center (SDSC). Karin is the founding director of
both SDSC and the National Partnership for Advanced Computational Infrastructure (NPACI).

In the early 1980s, Dr. Karin was one of the leaders in the creation of the Supercomputer Centers program of the National Science Foundation (NSF), eventually resulting in the establishment of SDSC. In 1997, this program was replaced by the NSF's Partnerships for Advanced Computational Infrastructure (PACI) program, with NPACI chosen to serve as one of two national partnerships to build the nation's computational infrastructure and address the increasingly complex needs of the academic and research community, government, and industry.

Dr. Karin founded SDSC, a national laboratory for computational science and engineering, in 1985. Today SDSC, a research unit of UCSD, is the leading-edge site of NPACI. Under Karin's leadership, NPACI builds upon SDSC's robust research agenda in scientific applications and enabling technologies to join together almost 50 academic research institutions in 18 states and several international affiliates to build and deploy the nation's computational infrastructure. Research areas of emphasis include data-intensive computing, interaction environments, metasystems, programming tools and environments, earth systems science, engineering, molecular science, neuroscience, education, outreach and training.

Dr. Karin is co-author, with Norris Parker Smith, of The Supercomputer Era, published by Harcourt Brace Jovanovich in 1987. Recognized as a national expert on high performance computing and its application to advancing scientific research, he is a frequent invited speaker, serves on numerous national review panels, and serves as an international advisor in this capacity.

Dr. Karin is a member of the Board of Directors of the Computing Research Association, the NSF Computer and Information Science and Engineering Directorate Advisory Committee, the President's Information Technology Advisory Committee's (PITAC) Panel on Transforming the Practice of Healthcare, and the Panel on Science and Technology of the University of California President's Council on the National Laboratories. He is the Chair of the Institute for Defense Analyses Center for Computing Sciences Program Review Committee and the Chair-Elect of the Information, Computing and Communication section of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Additionally, he is a member of the Oakridge National Laboratory's Computer Science and Mathematics Division Advisory Committee, the College of Computing Advisory Board at the Georgia Institute of Technology, the External Advisory Board of the Center for Education and Research in Information Assurance and Security at Purdue University and the IEEE Computer Society Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award Committee. He also serves on the Board of Advisors of Applied Metacomputing LLC and the Science and Technology Advisory Board of Telcordia (Bellcore). In the past, Karin has served as the chair of the Federal Networking Council Advisory Committee, and the Program Advisory Group for the Key Studies Development Project of the People's Republic of China. He has also served as a member of the Computer Science & Telecommunications Board of the National Research Council.

Dr. Karin is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and holds memberships in the Association for Computing Machinery and the IEEE Computer Society.

Dr. Karin has a B.E. degree in Mechanical Engineering from City College of New York, M.S.E. and Ph.D. degrees in Nuclear Engineering from the University of Michigan, and is a registered professional engineer. Dr. Karin was named Outstanding Alumnus from the University of Michigan Nuclear Engineering Department in 1989. He has previously been awarded the Atomic Energy Commission Special Fellowship in Nuclear Science and Engineering, the National Defense Education Act Fellowship and the New York State Regent College Scholarship.






CV (Word document)